Menu
Home Page

Thoresby

Welcome to Thoresby

Teacher: Mr Mulqueen

Teaching Assistants: Mrs Davey & Mrs Somerville

Class MPs: Archie G, Ellen and Neve

Class Book: The Sleeping Army

 

Welcome to Year 5's class page.

Maths

 

The children's maths target this half term is to be fluent in square numbers and square roots. This will help them immensely in their maths learning

in Year 5.

 

1² = 1 × 1 = 1

2² = 2 × 2 = 4

3² = 3 × 3 = 9

4² = 4 × 4 = 16

5² = 5 × 5 = 25

6² = 6 × 6 = 36

7² = 7 × 7 = 49

8² = 8 × 8 = 64

9² = 9 × 9 = 81

10² = 10 × 10 = 100

11² = 11 × 11 = 121

12² = 12 × 12 = 144

Computing

The children have created their own web-pages.

Click below to access them.

 

Science

This half term, we have been learning about Earth and Space.

You can see our SPACE display in the corridor. We used chalks and pastels to recreate the Sun and planets. 

Dates for the diary:

 

Tuesday 18th September: Year 5 parent session at 3.30pm

Friday 28th September: Harvest Service in church at 9.30am

Monday 1st October: Railway Children theatre group at 2.00pm

Thursday 25th October: School disco

Friday 26th October: INSET day

Tuesday 13th November: Year 5 & 6 trip to the cinema

Tuesday 13th November: Parents evening

Wednesday 14th November: Parents evening

Wednesday 21st November: Year 5 visit to the National Space Centre

Saturday 1st December: Christmas fair

Friday 14th December: Christmas jumper day

Wednesday 19th December: KS2 Christmas performance at 6pm

Thursday 20th December: Christmas party

Friday 21st December: Carol Service in church at 9.30am

 

Useful Documents

Parent Information Powerpoint

Year 5 Curriculum Map

Statutory Spelling Lists

Key Assessment Criteria - Writing

Key Instant Recall Facts - Maths

Home Learning Expectations

Drugs Education Scheme Overview

Top